How and What I learned (part 1)

I am the oldest of five.   I grew up in the town of Milton, Massachusetts with my Mother, Father and 4 siblings. Of course we also had a dog.

My next youngest brother and I were close when we were very young.  I recall that we were playing in the ‘playroom’ when my Parents brought my newest sibling home.  We asked if she could play with us 😉

I also recall when my youngest sibling arrived home. I came home from school and went upstairs and said hello to my newest sibling.  He later grew up to become a Navy Seal and served in the First Gulf War.  Returning from the war, he became a pharmacist, got married and came down with ALS and went from diagnosis to death in 9 months.

My Mother also grew up in Milton.   My Mother was a teacher before marrying my Father.  I recall that during my youth, my Mother was my  Den Leader. When I became a Boy Scout, my Father, his friends, and other townsmen became our Scoutmaster and assistant Scoutmasters.

My Maternal Grandparents also lived in Milton,  My Grandfather was known as Mr. Democrat.  He promoted Al Smith for President for the 1928 Presidential Election.  I introduced him in the post “Character is not Partisan”.   One thing I learned about him is that during the Great Depression,  he would hand out overcoats to men that called at his back door for a handout.  If you know the weather in New England, you may know what a lifesaver this can be.  Our saying about New England climate, is “If you don’t like the weather, wait a minute”.

I have been chatting with some folks and have even parrotted what they have said about “Our kids can name all the movie stars, but can’t name the supreme court justices”.   Well, when I was a kid, I couldn’t either.   I could name “William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, Nichelle Nichols,  DeForest Kelley, James Doohan, George Takei, Walter Koenig, Majel Barrett, Grace Lee Whitney; Groucho, Chico, Harpo , Zeppo and Karl Marx, as well as Friedrich Engels, Joseph Stalin, and  Leon Trotsky “;-)  And of course, Plato, Socrates, Julius Caesar, Buddha, Confucius, Saint Francis of Assisi,  William Shakespeare, Jesus of Nazareth, John the Baptist, Moses, Samuel Adams, John Adams, John Hancock, Ben Franklin, Sir Issac Newton, John Lennon,  Paul McCartney, George Harrison, Ringo Starr, and  Elvis Presley.  I was in love with Angela Cartwright.

For me and my contemporaries, it was a time of wonder. I really saw man walk on the moon.  

It was also a time of terror. The Cold War was stressful for all people alive during those times. For children like myself, it was terrifying.  It reminds me that “War is not healthy for children and other living things.”  I expected to either be vaporized or die in Viet Nam.  I recall when we got out of Viet Nam, that my family and I went on our knees and thanked God.  We then watched on the ‘Boob Tube’ when Saigon fell.

I recall when I had a copy of Mad Magazine with a pin-up of an American Flag with the stripes made up of Pejoratives for our fellow Americans.  My father became irate.  I knew my father had served in the US Air Force during the Korean Conflict, but learned later that he served with Chappie James.  No wonder he was angry with me.

God Bless America.

Adam Selene  Oct 2014

Creative Commons License
How and What I learned Part 1 by Adam Selene is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Published by

ai6pg

have worked in Financial Services for over 15 years with extensive experience in Project Management, Systems Analysis, Compliance, Operations, Relationship Management, and System Management. I am an NRA Rifle and Pistol Instructor as well as an NRA Range Safety Officer. I am a high power rocketeer. I'm an Level 2 Certified in NAR and Tripoli I am also an Amateur Extra Radio Operator. I enjoy photography: https://www.flickr.com/photos/gracefamily/

Leave a Reply

