Bicycling in Greater Boston

During and after college I got around mostly via bicycle. During college after moving from JQA dorm at Umass to Sunderland, MA, I   acquired a bicycle to commute from Sunderland to Umass in the summer. During the school year the 5 college bus system and Pioneer Valley bus system were adequate. I lost my bike one evening travelling home through Umass Amherst when I hit a grate, bending my bottom bracket and giving myself a severe case of road rash.

I next recall riding centuries in the greater Boston area. In some cases going off course about 30 miles. I had purchased a Univega Gran Turismo for touring rather that a standard road bike.
When I moved to Somerville MA I brought that cycle with me.

I joined the Boston Area Bicycle Coalition (BABC) now known as Massbike. At a event for a cycling conference held a MIT, I entered a raffle and won a Cannondale SM500.

I did have an automobile at times but after crashes or non-use I just used walking or cycling.

I rode my bicycle year round even in the snow.  I recall a instance when I rode to a choir gathering at my choir directors house and parked my bicycle on top of a snowbank and locked it to a street sign.

I enjoyed riding across Cambridge to Brookline to visit my girlfriend.  I took a lane as is permitted by Massachusetts version of the vehicle code.

I got to know John Allen while in BABC.

Once I was married, the cycling lifestyle took a rest.

Southern California is beautiful. I hope I can do more cycling.

Adam Selene    October 2014

Creative Commons License
Cycling in Greater Boston by Adam Selene is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Published by

ai6pg

have worked in Financial Services for over 15 years with extensive experience in Project Management, Systems Analysis, Compliance, Operations, Relationship Management, and System Management. I am an NRA Rifle and Pistol Instructor as well as an NRA Range Safety Officer. I am a high power rocketeer. I'm an Level 2 Certified in NAR and Tripoli I am also an Amateur Extra Radio Operator. I enjoy photography: https://www.flickr.com/photos/gracefamily/

Leave a Reply

