Family Stories

I recall some family stories my mother and maternal grandparents told me.

One was about my late Great Great Grandmother who arrived in Boston from Eire. Likely by ship probably about 1840. She got a job as a maid in a Brahmin house in Boston. Her bedroom had a poster of Martin Luther on the wall. She cut the eyes out of the poster with scissors.

My Great Great Uncle Hugh Gilligan fought in the American Civil War, served in K Company, 22 Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry of the Union Army with his Brother James Gilligan against the Southern Secessionists aka the Confederacy. This war is also know as the War of Northern Aggression.  Hugh Gilligan lost a leg at Spotsylvania when a canon hit him in the leg breaking his femur. His leg was then amputated. He became the first Irish American Boston City Councilman. This was likely during the  Tammany period.

If I recall more stories, I’ll add them.

God Bless America

Peter Grace

Published by

ai6pg

have worked in Financial Services for over 15 years with extensive experience in Project Management, Systems Analysis, Compliance, Operations, Relationship Management, and System Management. I am an NRA Rifle and Pistol Instructor as well as an NRA Range Safety Officer. I am a high power rocketeer. I'm an Level 2 Certified in NAR and Tripoli I am also an Amateur Extra Radio Operator. I enjoy photography: https://www.flickr.com/photos/gracefamily/

Leave a Reply

