Musicians I have met or experienced

Back in the 1960’s my first experience with popular music was with the Beatles. I listened to them on 45rpm records on a show and tell and danced to the music with my siblings.

I person, I attended later a concert by Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention in Boston with Lilla Gardiner, daughter of Tenley Albright. I don’t remember much of the concert.

At a Clamshell Alliance event at Seabrook Nuclear Plant in 1979 I met Pete Seeger. Great show. I met him in the parking lot before the show.

In the 1970s in Boston I heard Harry Chapin at City Hall Plaza during the Kevin White administration. A good college friend was with him before Mr. Chapin had his fatal accident on the Long Island Expressway.

At the 1369 Jazz Club in Inman Square, Cambridge, I met Ella Fitzgerald one evening when she came for the open mike night. She was fabulous.

From September 6, 1980 CE plus I attended about 165 shows by the Grateful Dead, Bobby and the Midnights, and Jerry Garcia Band.  I never travelled more than 1000 miles to see them, but that was one hell of a weekend with shows in Buffalo NY and Washington DC.  I stopped seeing them so much after Jerry Garcia overdosed in Golden Gate Park. I did have tickets to see them in September 1995 CE, but Jerry Garcia passed on before the show.

I started to enjoy one of my local bands Fortunate Sun with Jeff Schein, Bruce Thomson, and Phil Greene in the clubs around  Boston. I became one of their top fans.

In Somerville Massachusetts, I sang in the Patronage of St. Joseph Choir for a number of years until I moved to Southern California. Josephine Lucreziano was our Choir Director.  Maureen Gaffney took over after a while as choir director. She also sang at our wedding. Josephine stayed on as Organist.

In Boston at First Night and also in Pennsylvania I was introduced to Woods Tea Company.

Now as a family man, I generally prefer listening to a variety of music. I still enjoy the English Opera of Gilbert and Sullivan.
My parents took me to see D’Oyly Carte Opera Company when they performed in Boston, MA.

Peter Grace

Published by

ai6pg

have worked in Financial Services for over 15 years with extensive experience in Project Management, Systems Analysis, Compliance, Operations, Relationship Management, and System Management. I am an NRA Rifle and Pistol Instructor as well as an NRA Range Safety Officer. I am a high power rocketeer. I'm an Level 2 Certified in NAR and Tripoli I am also an Amateur Extra Radio Operator. I enjoy photography: https://www.flickr.com/photos/gracefamily/

Leave a Reply

