Sense of Self

Went through the weekday battle to get the kids up, fed, and out the door. Sunday was a huge battle with my youngest at church. Didn’t know I’d get so much exercise. I had to hug my youngest and tickle him to keep him from disrupting the folks in the pew behind.

On Sense of Self – I suspect that many people are loosing theirs into the boob tube.  We are mortal beings and life is both wonderful (usually) and short. I enjoy meeting most people I meet in my life even when they appear to me to be a little crazy.  When our health degrades due to age or disease, that can make us more crabby.

I recall meeting a woman who was sitting at the entrance of the adult school here in Simi Valley last week. She was a bit crabby. Turns out she’s in her 70’s and still working as she needs to. The cost of living here is expensive. I can understand the stress she is under. We all have stress.

Just heard Liberian President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf on NPR. ‘Fix it yourself.’ That’s a Liberian motto.  I think the American motto could be ‘Fix it ourselves’. I am certain many of us like to work in teams. Trick is finding the right team with the right people on the right project or enterprise.  Many American’t are too busy to take on additional work to fix our nation. They are heads down and focused. I’m looking at a bigger picture as I have lots of experience and am writing to share it.

Having just dropped off my youngest child and saw other parents dropping off or walking their kids school I feel my place in history. I also saw a family with small children at Rocky Peak yesterday. That’s what it’s about. I hope we can make a better world for the future generations.  I’d much rather folks understood the importance of education and fought like the dickens for all they can get. With the internet, more educational information is available to people then ever, though I do know that there’s plenty of information not available on the internet.  I am pleased that some people are working to make this information available.

The local government is closing two schools here in Simi Valley as there are fewer students here now. The cost of living is pushing away many families. That means that most people here are older. I really enjoy communities with a good  mix of ages. As we age and die, more families may move in or the homes may be subdivided to provide apartments for people. I’ve seen that in other communities.

I love the  DIY movement. I love kickstarter. I wish more people would take a longer view and help us live outside the box a bit. That makes life more interesting and better too.

Just read an essay on Sick Days by Terri Lively. I wish this could be fixed too. It’s not good that those of us who get ill with a contagious illness have to go in and share the joy with our coworkers.

I just encountered the artist Jon McNaughton. Beautiful, skilled and enlightened art.  I hope I can afford a print. When I was more affluent, I purchased originals. I love the work of Bob Eggleton, particularly the SF art he did in the 1980s.

While at the Adult Ed center with my youngest for Math tutorial, I spoke with a young lady who was with her husband and son. She said she spoke with me the prior week. I regretfully don’t remember. I hope it’s not early onset Alzheimer’s. Good thing I have a doctor appointment tomorrow.

Peter Grace

Published by

ai6pg

have worked in Financial Services for over 15 years with extensive experience in Project Management, Systems Analysis, Compliance, Operations, Relationship Management, and System Management. I am an NRA Rifle and Pistol Instructor as well as an NRA Range Safety Officer. I am a high power rocketeer. I'm an Level 2 Certified in NAR and Tripoli I am also an Amateur Extra Radio Operator. I enjoy photography: https://www.flickr.com/photos/gracefamily/

Leave a Reply

