Human Body Clocks

Interesting essay on NPR today on Circadian Clocks of the Human Body.

No wonder my wife and I have issues as do other people, especially Americans.  Giving birth to three children and raising them does a number on our clocks and endocrine systems.  Oh well, it’s for a good cause.

I recall reading the Novella “Beggars in Spain” by Nancy Kress.  Interesting idea, not likely possible for a long time if at all, but still it would be interesting to not require sleep.  I  do enjoy sleep as that’s when I do a lot of processing of information I’ve garnered during the day.  I believe sleep is a gift from God to most vertebrates.

While working for many enterprises as a System Analyst, I’ve had to support enterprise applications on a 24/7 basis. That also caused me to loose sleep.  Recently I did a job for a major managed healthcare company that required a 1.5-2.5 hour commute each way. That too caused me to loose sleep. Also working as a Project Manager, in the global economy, I’ve lost sleep due to conference and Skype calls at all hours of the day and night.

I did have quite a time getting my eldest son up today as he didn’t go to sleep at a reasonable time. I poured water on him to get him up. He had to be at work at 0800.

Life is good.

Peter Grace

Creative Commons License
Human Body Clocks by Peter Grace is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Published by

ai6pg

have worked in Financial Services for over 15 years with extensive experience in Project Management, Systems Analysis, Compliance, Operations, Relationship Management, and System Management. I am an NRA Rifle and Pistol Instructor as well as an NRA Range Safety Officer. I am a high power rocketeer. I'm an Level 2 Certified in NAR and Tripoli I am also an Amateur Extra Radio Operator. I enjoy photography: https://www.flickr.com/photos/gracefamily/

Leave a Reply

