On Spirituality

When a young person, I resented going to church. When I was a child, I thought I might live to visit Mars. Then reality came to light. I heard about the Cuban Missile Crisis. Then the War in Vietnam and Cambodia came to my mind. Being chicken, I didn’t want to die in a nuclear holocaust or a war. Of course, soldiers are socialized to fight for their buddies and their nation. I much prefer diplomacy over war.

That’s when I started to pray that the War would end. I recall getting on my knees with my family and thanking God when President Nixon announced that we were leaving Vietnam. I do recall that at age 6, I helped a mother plant flowers around a memorial for him that had been setup at Turners Pond.

Then around 1990 I started getting spritual again. I joined St. Joseph’s Parish in Somerville Massachusetts and then joined the choir. When I moved to Simi Valley, CA I joined St. Peter Claver Parish then joined St. Rose of Lima Parish. I now regularly attend mass at St Rose of Lima Parish, Simi Valley CA. St Rose has real people and not people living in dreamworld.

I recall being rather shocked the first time I was attacked by other humans. When I’d learned that they were from Haiti, I thought that couldn’t be possible as Haitians speak Francaise, a civilized language and culture. How naive of me. Now with the present lack of spiritual training of Americans, many who aren’t even aware of the Golden Rule and that they are mortal, I fear for my fellow Americans when they venture forth. Sure violent crime is at a low. I believe that won’t last. I pray for the little children I see playing in the park. They are so beautiful. God does love us as he gave us Souls.

I do know death is inevitable. Life is good hopefully while it lasts. I love my family and my fellow Americans and my fellow humans. I wish we wouldn’t be so mean to each other. However, people are people, there is Good and there is Evil. I’ve seen some of both. Many people have experienced more then their share of evil. I’ve met Elie Wiesel who survived Auschwitz.

People can’t imagine something like that happening here. Our memories are so short. I do appreciate Wikipedia and archive.org for their references. Our homes and roads are built on the bodies of the people who came before us. Many of them, particularly the Native Americans who occupied North, Central, and South America died from disease brought by the Europeans. Some also died of lead poisoning. Typical human shenanigans

God Bless America, please.

Peter Grace

Creative Commons License
On Spirituality by Peter Grace is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Published by

ai6pg

have worked in Financial Services for over 15 years with extensive experience in Project Management, Systems Analysis, Compliance, Operations, Relationship Management, and System Management. I am an NRA Rifle and Pistol Instructor as well as an NRA Range Safety Officer. I am a high power rocketeer. I'm an Level 2 Certified in NAR and Tripoli I am also an Amateur Extra Radio Operator. I enjoy photography: https://www.flickr.com/photos/gracefamily/

Leave a Reply

